Udinese vs AC Milan, probable lineups

AC Milan make their Serie A debut against Udinese on Sunday. Coach Marco Giampaolo has only two doubts in his mind for the league opener.

SERIE A – After the last friendly match against Cesena, AC Milan are preparing for their Serie A debut on Sunday at 18:00 against Udinese. Coach Marco Giampaolo is currently working on his starting eleven for Udinese vs AC Milan at the Stadio Friuli, with special emphasis on new signings.

There is one big doubt that troubles Giampaolo and it concerns the attack, reports Corriere dello Sport. During pre-season, the Rossoneri strikers failed to impress with their performances. Giampaolo’s big dilemma is whether to rely again on Samuel Castillejo or launch Rafael Leao from the first minute.

The Spanish winger is the one to have partnered more with Piatek in pre-season but his performances have mostly been underwhelming. The Portuguese striker on the other hand did great against Feronikeli but can he do the difference in the league after playing just 45 minutes with the rest of the squad.

At the moment, it seems like Castielljo is in advantage over Leao. The former Villarreal, together with Suso, will be in support of Krzysztof Piatek. The only new signing to make his debut in Milan vs Udinese is expected to be Rude Krunic. The midfield should be completed by Lucas Paqueta and Hakan Calhanoglu. Biglia was supposed to start but he has suffered an injury while Borini could be the surprise.

The defence is the department that gives more guarantees to the coach. With Theo Hernandez injured, it will be up to Ricardo Rodriguez on the left with Davide Calabria on the right. At the center, with Leo Duarte not yet ready, Mateo Musacchio will partner with Alessio Romagnoli in front of Gianluigi Donnarumma. The entire stadium is already sold-out for Udinese vs AC Milan.

UDINESE (3-4-2-1): Musso, Becao, Ekong, Samir, Larsen, Mandragora, Jankto, Pezzella, Pussetto, De Paul, Lasagna.

AC MILAN (4-3-1-2): Donnarumma, Calabria, Romagnoli, Musacchio, Rodriguez, Paqueta, Krunic, Calhanoglu, Suso, Castillejo, Piatek.