Pioli makes surprising changes in attack for AC Milan vs Salzburg

AC Milan host Red Bull Salzburg at San Siro in what will be the last Champions League group match and decide who progresses to the next stage.

The Rossoneri need to forget the Torino misstep and immediately turn the page tonight against Salzburg. The club decided to announce Stefano Pioli’s contract extension a few days ago to inject some much needed enthusiasm in the group. The Red and Blacks need only to avoid defeat in order to progress to the knockout stage but Pioli has more ambition for AC Milan vs Salzburg.

The Rossoneri were surprised in the first leg when they encountered a quick and attacking-minded opponent. The stakes are really high and the Italian coach will field the best possible line-up against the Red Bull club.

Stefano Pioli will make five changes for AC Milan vs Salzburg starting from the defence. Simon Kjaer will return to lead the backline alongside Fikayo Tomori. The English defender is available after the one-match suspension due to the red card he received against Chelsea. Pierre Kalulu will be deployed on the right with Theo Hernandez on the left.

Another player who was rested in the last league match was Ismael Bennacer. The Algerian central midfielder will play alongside Sandro Tonali. The two will have the difficult task to break the opponent’s attack and give a helping hand up front.

Unexpected changes will take place in attack. Brahim Diaz was considered in advantage for the attacking midfielder role over Charles De Ketelaere. Instead it will be Rade Krunic to start from the first minute with Rafael Leao on the left and Ante Rebic on the right. The presence of Rebic on the right wing is another surprise. Junior Messias in support of Olivier Giroud. The Rososneri forwards need to redeem themselves in Milan vs Salzburg after the terrible performances with Torino.

AC MILAN Probable XI (4-2-3-1): Tatarusanu; Kalulu, Kjaer, Tomori, Hernandez; Tonali, Bennacer; Rebic, Krunic, Leao; Giroud.

RED BULL SALZBURG Probable XI: (4-3-1-2): Kohn; Dedic, Pavlovic, Wober, Ulmer; Gourna-Douath; Seiwald, Sucic, Kjaergaard; Okafor, Adamu.

READ MORE: AC Milan’s worst signings EVER